Najib's third cabinet reshuffle sees PM's Dept slim down to nine ministers

Modified 27 Jun 2016, 1:22 pm

Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak unveiled his new cabinet line-up this afternoon, his third reshuffle since 2013.

He has given his cabinet a little trim, down one minister and up one deputy minister in the Prime Minister's Department, which now has nine ministers and three deputies, compared to 11 ministers and two deputies before.

Najib said the portfolios of the ministers in the prime minister's department will be reshuffled soon.

The latest reshuffle comes one month shy of a year since Najib shook up his roster, dropping Muhyiddin Yassin and Shafie Apdal, and promoting Ahmad Zahid Hamidi to deputy prime minister.

Johari Abdul Ghani is succeeding Husni Hanadzlah, whose retirement Najib announced during the cabinet shake up.

Abdul Rahman Dahlan is replacing Abdul Wahid Omar after the latter's term as senator expired.

Noh Omar is making a return to cabinet after being dropped from Najib's original post-2013 elections line-up.

Meanwhile Mah Siew Keong, who is Gerakan president, is succeeding Douglas Uggah Embas who quit the cabinet to run in the recent Sarawak state elections.

The plantation sector had previously been under the stewardship of long time former Gerakan president Lim Keng Yaik, who held the post of primary industries minister from 1986 until 2004.

On the deputy minister's roster, Lee Chee Leong and Chua Tee Yong are swapping portfolios.

Othman Aziz (Jerlun MP), Nasrun Mansur (Silam MP), Henry Sum Agong (Lawas MP), and SK Devamany (senator) are all first time deputy ministers.

With the new roster, Sarawak has lost a full minister (Uggah), to be replaced with a deputy minister (Henry), while Sabah has gained a deputy minister (Nasrun).

Related reports