Most Read
Most Commented
COMMENT | Rare show of unanimity between top 5 nuclear powers

COMMENT | The five nuclear-weapon states, namely the United States, Russia, China, Britain, and France, in a rare show of unity on Jan 3 issued a joint statement pledging to prevent nuclear war and avoid arms races, affirming that “a nuclear war cannot be won and must never be fought.”

This statement is crucial given the fact its makers are the recognised nuclear-weapon states, as per the 1968 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), and are the permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (known as P5).

The commitment to avoid a nuclear war is a “positive” move, a “gift of peace to the whole world” and reflects the P5’s commitment to “cooperation” in the face of confrontation. This is how some commentators described the pledge made by P5.


Unlocking Article
View Comments