Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
Isa scores landslide win, majority 5,435
Published:  Oct 11, 2009 6:23 PM
Updated: 5:47 PM


8.05pm: Official Election Commission's results (final)

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 8,013

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 2,578

Majority: 5,435

Spoilt votes: 223

NONE As returning officer Abdul Wahad Samsuddin made the official annoucement at the tallying centre, jubilant Umno supporters cheered.

Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin, Negeri Sembilan Menteri Besar Mohamad Hasan and Mohd Isa raised their arms as they took the stage to the shouts of ‘Hidup Barisan!’ Zulkefly and PAS supporters were not at the hall.

In an immediate reaction, PAS vice-president Salahuddin Ayub ( photo, below ) said that his party accepts the decision of Bagan Pinang voters.

NONE “This is a dark day for Malaysia because an icon of corruption has become a representative of the people.”

He added that Umno might have won the by-election, but it has lost the fight against corruption.

Meanwhile, Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin said BN has won all eight polling districts, including the three Indian estates, which showed a return in support from the minority community.

"We get an almost 100 percent increase in support and tjhis is a breakthorugh for BN.

"I hope this will transform into a new wave of support for BN and Umno," he said.

NONE Muhyiddin added the BN government would continue with its policies which have benefited all communities.

7.31pm: Umno's Isa Samad claimed victory. He thanked party workers for their effort and voters for their support.

Asked if he had expected a landslide win, he said: "I didn't expect it to be that massive but I knew the majority would be bigger than 2008 (general election)."

He said his victory showed that Malays, Chinese and Indians have all returned to give their support to BN and Umno.

NONE Asked to comment on the criticism by Umno veterans Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah over his candidacy, Isa said: "I just smiled."

7.17pm: Official Election Commission results so far:

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 5,746

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 1,505

Majority: 4,241

Dejected PAS supporters have left the party's operations centre in Bagan Pinang. There were 150 people an hour earlier, now there are no more than 10.

7.15pm: Unofficial - with all votes counted, Umno's Isa won by a whopping majority of over 5,000 votes.

azlan In the 2008 general election, Umno won the state seat with 2,333 votes.

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 8,013

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 2,578

Majority: 5,435

Spoilt votes: 222

7pm: Official Election Commission's results so far (with 5,318 votes counted)

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 4,377

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 941

Majority: 3,436

6.53pm: Umno's Isa has scored a landslide victory in the Bagan Pinang by-election with a majority of over 5,000 votes.

Unofficial - with 10,311 votes (93.2 percent) counted:

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 7,821

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 2,490

Majority: 5,331

Spoilt votes: 218

Postal votes - unofficial results

BN - 3,521

PAS - 601

Majority - 2,920

In the 2008 general election, BN bagged 3,080 postal votes against PAS' 1,189. Majority - 1,891

6.42pm: Judging by the count so far, Umno's Isa is set to win the Bagan Pinang by-election with a landslide.

Unofficial - with 8,708 votes (78 percent) counted:

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 6,705

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 2,003

Majority: 4,702

Spoilt votes: 67

6.31pm: Unofficial - the count so far:

Mohd Isa Abd Samad (BN): 6,358

Zulkefly Mohamad Omar (PAS): 1,847

Majority: 4,511

Spoilt votes: 62

6.20pm: According to the early count in four of the eight polling districts in Bagan Pinang, BN is leading.

Ladang Bradwall (BN - 215, PAS - 90)

Pekan Silliau (BN - 349, PAS - 113)

Ladang Atherton (BN - 218, PAS - 115)

Sua Betong (BN - 371, PAS - 149)

In the 2008 general election, PAS won Pekan Silliau, Ladang Atherton and Sua Betong (districts with substantial number of Indian voters where plantation estates are located). It is currently trailing in all these polling stations.

Umno bagged the other five polliing districts - Ladang Bradwall, Taman Eastern, Kampung Bagan Pinang, Si Rusa and Teluk Kemang.

Please join the Malaysiakini WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news and views that matter.