Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
Adenan’s gamble on BN ‘direct candidates’ paid off

The strategy of fielding ‘direct candidates’ has proven a success for Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem as 11 of the 13 Barisan Nasional (BN) direct candidates won in the 11th state election.

BN Sarawak fielded 13 direct candidates in 82 seats contested in the polls.

Seats won by BN direct candidates are Ranum Mina (Opar), Dr Jerip

Susil (Mambong), Dr Johnical Rayong Nyipa (Engkilili), William Mawan

Ikom (Pakan), Tiong Thai King (Dudong), Wong Soon Koh (Bawang Assan), Rosey Yunus (Bekenu), Paulus Palu Gumbang (Batu Danau), Miro Simuh (Serembu), John Ilus (Bukit Semuja), and Gerawat Gala (Mulu).

However, BN direct candidate Janet Lau Ung Hie failed to wrest the Pelawan seat in a three-corned fight and lost to DAP’s Wong Kee Woan by 4,314 votes.

Lau obtained 8,742 votes while Wong polled 13,056 and Priscilla Lau (Star) 597 votes.

Hii King Chiong failed to wrest the Pujut state seat in a four-cornered fight as Hii picked 7,140 votes against DAP’s Ting Tiong Choon's 8,899 while Fong Pau Teck (independent) 375 votes and Jofri Jaraiee (PAS) 413 were the other candidates.

Former DAP stalwart, Fong was the incumbent for Pujut but he was expelled by the party for ‘going against the party’ in the general election.

The unique formula by Adenan was a solution to resolve the disputes between

Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP) and its splinter party UPP and also Sarawak

Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) and its splinter, Teras.

BN won 72 of the 82 seats contested while DAP took seven and PKR three.

- Bernama