Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
Johor Sultan clarifies refusal to be next Agong, says adhering to tradition
Published:  Oct 14, 2016 1:39 PM
Updated: 2:29 PM

Johor Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar rejected the offer to become the next Yang Di-Pertuan Agong out of respect for the rotation tradition.

This was according to the monarch's official Facebook page, which refuted earlier claims that the Johor Sultan preferred to focus on his state and Bangsa Johor.

"Contrary to social media reports, DYMM Sultan Johor declined the offer to become the next Yang di-Pertuan Agong because he wants to strictly adhere to the rotation system set by the conference of rulers.

"Under this time-tested succession pattern, the sultan of Kelantan is next in line, followed by the sultan of Pahang.

"Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar respects and understands the rule of succession by rotation and wishes to abide by this," read the statement on Sultan Ibrahim's official Facebook page.

Johor Southern Tigers Facebook, which earlier today claimed the Johor sultan rejected the offer to focus on Johor and Bangsa Johor, has since deleted its post.

The Johor Southern Tigers Facebook page is a platform where Johor crown prince Tunku Ismail Ibrahim usually issues his statements.

The deleted message had read: "This was all done as the sultan of Johor insists on giving his utmost focus on the sovereignty of Johor and the welfare of the people of Johor".

In a comment response on the now deleted post, the account also clarified that the process is usually by a rotation system, but all the other rulers had wanted the Johor sultan to be the next Agong.

“But the Johor sultan has declined the offer to concentrate fully on Johor,” read the comment.

In accordance with the rotation system, Kelantan's Sultan Muhammad V will be succeeding the current Agong, Tuanku Abdul Halim, whose five-year term since Dec 13, 2011 will end this Dec 12.

The voting by the nine rulers is by secret ballot and a candidate needed to receive at least five votes to be named the next Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

This voting procedure is repeated for the post of Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, who will act on the Agong’s behalf during His Majesty’s absence in the country, or due to illness.

'Unanimous decision'

On the old Facebook posting, it was further clarified that the rotation system is the norm, however, "when an issue arises, it will be conducted according to a vote".

It added all the sultans agreed with the decision in favour of the Kelantan sultan.

"And for this reason too the Johor sultan chaired this 242nd Conference of Rulers meeting."

Meanwhile, according to Bernama, the keeper of the rulers' seal Syed Danial Syed Ahmad officially announced the Kelantan sultan as the 15th Agong, with Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah as the deputy.

Please join the Malaysiakini WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news and views that matter.