Polling officially closes in Tanjong Datu by-election


Modified 18 Feb 2017, 10:40 am

All 16 polling centres for the Tanjong Datu state constituency by-election opened at 8am today for 9,771 voters to cast their ballots ands elect their new assemblyperson.

5.34pm: Bernama reports all 16 polling centres are closed as of 5pm. Now the spotlight is focused on the Lundu Community Hall, which also served as the venue of the nomination centre, early voting counting centre and vote tallying centre.

The Election Commission expects the results of the Tanjong Datu by-election will be known at the earliest by 8pm.

4.10pm: Bernama reports 13 polling centres closed as of 4pm. EC states 68 percent of voters have cast their votes by 4pm.

3pm: Bernama reports EC saying 67 percent voter turnout as at 3pm. Meanwhile, NST reported that nine of 16 polling stations in the constituency have closed as of 3pm today.

2.30pm: Borneo Post reports four polling centres closed at 12 noon having shown “quite disappointing turnout rates”. These polling centres include SK Telok Melano, SJK Chung Hua Selarat, SK Stoh and Balai Raya Kampung Rambungan.

2.10pm: Bernama reports EC as saying Tanjong Datu by-election: 64 per cent voter turnout as at 2pm.

2pm: According to Bernama, eight polling centres closed, 61 pct turnout as of 1pm.

1pm: Sarawak Chief Minister Amar Abang Johari Openg said 72 percent voters turnout is achievable.

Asked if the turnout of 75 percent set by the Election Commission (EC) could be achieved, Abang Johari said BN's target was between 70 to 75 percent.

Abang Johari told this to reporters during this visit to SJK Chung Hua here this morning.

He said the wet weather this morning was probably the reason why the turnout was a bit slow.

However he said in some of the polling stations the turnout was encouraging between 50 to 59 percent.

He added that by afternoon it is expected that the number of voters would improve as the trend showed that usually more will come to cast their votes in the afternoon, especially among young voters.

12pm: As at noon, the turnout was at 56 percent.

10.30am: The process is going on smoothly despite a drizzle. According to the Election Commission, 34 percent of registered voters have voted in the first two hours.

One hundred and eighty-eight or 1.9 percent of 9,959 voters had on Feb 12 cast their ballots at two early voting centres.

The by-election was called following the death of Sarawak's fifth chief minister Adenan Satem due to heart complications on Jan 11 at Sarawak Heart Centre in Kota Samarahan.

In the 11th State Election in May last year, Adenan, 72, obtained 6,360 votes against PKR candidate Jazolkipli Numan's 468 votes, thereby securing a majority of 5,892 votes.

This time around, PKR opted not to join in the race to become the next representative for Tanjong Datu.

The by-election is a three-cornered contest involving BN, represented by Adenan's widow, Jamilah Anu; State Reform Party, Sarawak (Star)'s Johnny Aput; and New Sarawak Native People's Party (PBDS)'s Rapelson Richard Hamit.

Lundu has the highest number of voters - 1,906, who will cast their ballots at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Chung Hua, while Perigi has the least number - 171, followed by Telok Melano - 172.

A general survey at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Chung Hua around 8am this morning found that many voters had arrived at the polling centre as early as 7.30am.

Rapelson was also seen shaking hands with potential voters at the school compound.

On Thursday, EC chairperson Mohd Hashim Abdullah said the result of the by-election was expected to be obtained by 8pm.

- Bernama