Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
'Tun-ship' for Samy Vellu and Md Raus
Published:  Sep 8, 2017 4:09 PM
Updated: Sep 9, 2017 8:53 AM

Former MIC president S Samy Vellu, Chief Justice Md Raus Sharif and former cabinet minister Michael Chen Wing Sum have been awarded the Seri Setia Mahkota award, the country's highest award, which carries the "Tun" title.

The trio are heading the list of awards and medals in conjunction with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V's birthday today.

Samy Vellu, 81, is currently Malaysia's special envoy to India. He was an eight term Sungai Siput MP and led MIC for 31 years until 2010.

Md Raus, 66, was sworn in again as chief justice last month.

Chen, 85, is a former MCA deputy president and was once the speaker of the Dewan Negara from 2000 to 2003.

View Comments