Malaysiakini News

Curfew in Sabah's Esszone extended till Nov 14

Bernama  |  Published:  |  Modified:

The curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone), which ends at 6pm today, has been extended until Nov 14.

The districts are Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

Sabah police chief Commissioner Ramli Din said with the extension, all residents in the affected areas must remain indoors between 6pm and 6am.

“The curfew has been extended to ensure that the waters are not encroached by terrorists, which could threaten the security of international researchers, as well as tourists at resort islands,” he said in a statement issued in Kota Kinabalu today.

Ramli said based on information, the Abu Sayyaf militant group and those from the southern Philippines who conducted kidnappings for ransom and cross-border crimes were still active in the region.

The curfew was also to facilitate enforcement and monitoring of boat movements and the presence of security vessels creates a sense of security for chalet operators and fishermen around the area, he said.

"I also authorise all district police chiefs in the Esszone districts to issue permits to eligible applicants for fishing activities, or in cases of emergencies, to go through a curfew area,” Ramli said.

- Bernama

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000