In its second re-election since 2012, DAP delegates have chosen to retain 90 percent of its central executive committee (CEC), with party veteran Lim Kit Siang reclaiming the top spot.

But not all of the same faces remain, as the CEC has decided to undertake a major reshuffle of its appointed members.

Of the leaders that delegates voted for today, 18 out 20 were retained.

The two individuals who are no longer in the CEC are former committee member Boo Cheng Hau, who obtained 384 votes, and late chairperson Karpal Singh, who died in a car accident in 2014.

Despite being deceased, Karpal still received 43 votes.

The newcomers replacing Boo and Karpal are Ronnie Liu, with 688 votes, and V Sivakumar, with 586 votes.

After the elections, the new CEC dropped most of the leaders appointed to the committee in 2013.

Those dropped include Kepong MP Tan Seng Giaw, Penang deputy chief minister II P Ramasamy, Arrifin Omar, Kota Kinabalu MP Jimmy Wong, Vincent Wu and Leong Ngah Ngah...

Unlocking Article
View Comments
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent