Most Read
Most Commented
story images
story images
story images
story images
Look who's back: PRM to field 20 candidates in S'gor
Published:  Apr 7, 2018 10:07 AM
Updated: 1:27 PM

GE14 | After taking a decade long haitus, Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) are set to rejoin the electoral race and named some of their candidates for Selangor today.

Their candidates include some familiar faces, such as former Pakatan Rakyat lawmakers S Manikavasagam and Jenice Lee Ying Ha.

In total, PRM aims to field five parliamentary candidates and 15 state candidates. 

According to Bernama, Manikavasagam said he quit PKR on April 3 and was glad to return to PRM's fold. 

Manikavasagam won the Kapar parliamentary seat in 2008, but was fielded as a legislative assembly candidate by PKR in 2013, which is considered a demotion.

As for Lee, she was sacked by DAP in 2013 after standing as an independent candidate, following the party barring her from defending her Teratai seat. 

PRM, established in 1955 by one of Malaysia's most celebrated leftist Ahmad Boestaman, is among the oldest political parties in the country, but has tasted very limited electoral success.

However, a significant number of PRM alumni have found electoral success in other parties, such as PKR and Parti Sosialis Malaysia.

The party had fielded candidates in all recent elections except in 2013. 

Now, the party has announced that it would focus on Selangor and Penang – both states currently administered by Pakatan Harapan. 

The list of PRM's candidates for Selangor announced today are as follows:


Bangi - Dennis Wan Jinn Woei

Pandan - Jenice Lee Ying Ha

Klang - Santokh Singh

Kapar - S Manikavasagam 

Selayang - TBA


Kajang - Dennis Wan Jinn Woei

Teratai - Jenice Lee

Bandar Baru Klang - Santokh Singh

Selat Klang - S Manikavasagam

Sementa- Ti Thong Siew

Meru - N Gandhi

Banting - Tan Choon Swee

Sentosa - M Telai Amblam

Pandan Indah - Norizwan Mohamed 

Sungai Kandis - Hanafiah Husin

Bukit Melawati - Mohammad Salleh Karman

Taman Templer - TBA

Kuang - TBA 

Rawang - TBA

Sungai Tua - TBA

View Comments