News Malaysiakini

PM unveils names of 13 ministers, more to come

Malaysiakini  |  Published:  |  Modified:

The Prime Minister's Office has announced the names of those to be sworn-in as ministers in Dr Mahathir Mohamad's initial cabinet.

The list was released after obtaining the consent of the Yang di-Pertuang Agong Sultan Mahmud V.

Excluding the top two posts, Bersatu has three positions, PKR three, DAP four and Amanah three.

The names of the appointees, their parties, and parliamentary constituencies are as follows:

Deputy Prime Minister - Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (PKR–Pandan)

Home Minister - Muhyiddin Yassin (Bersatu-Pagoh)

Education Minister - Maszlee Malik (Bersatu-Simpang Renggam)

Rural Development Minister - Rina Harun (Bersatu-Titiwangsa)

Women and Family Development Minister - Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (PKR-Pandan)

Economic Affairs Minister - Mohd Azmin Ali (PKR-Gombak)

Housing and Local Government Minister - Zuraida Kamaruddin (PKR-Ampang)

Finance Minister - Lim Guan Eng (DAP-Bagan)

Transport Minister - Anthony Loke (DAP-Seremban)

Communications and Multimedia Minister - Gobind Singh Deo (DAP-Puchong)

Human Resource Minister - M Kulasegaran (DAP-Ipoh Barat)

Defence Minister - Mohamad Sabu (Amanah-Kota Raja)

Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Minister - Salahuddin Ayub (Amanah-Pulai)

Health Minister - Dzulkefly Ahmad (Amanah-Kuala Selangor)

The prime minister had previously announced that the initial cabinet would comprise key ministries and this would be expanded later.

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000