story images
story images
story images
Wan Azizah first woman DPM, Gobind first Sikh minister

Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, Malaysia’s first female deputy prime minister, led a line-up of 13 cabinet ministers in taking their oath of office, loyalty and secrecy before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur today.

The swearing-in, which took place at the Singgahsana Kecil (Minor Throne Room) of the palace, was witnessed by Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad. Also present was his wife, Dr Siti Hasmah Mohamad Ali.

The ceremony began at 5.45pm with the acceptance of the instrument of appointment by Wan Azizah, who is also PKR president, as the deputy prime minister and women and family development minister.

She then took her oath and signed the official instrument of appointment, witnessed by Chief Justice Raus Sharif and chief secretary to the government Ali Hamsa.

Then, Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and Amanah president Mohamad Sabu took their oath together as the home minister, finance minister and defence minister, respectively.

Simpang Renggam MP Dr Maszlee Malik, Titiwangsa MP Rina Harunmand PKR deputy president Azmin Ali took their oath together as the education minister, rural development minister and economic affairs minister, respectively.

Subsequently, PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin, DAP organising secretary Anthony Loke and DAP deputy chairperson Gobind Singh Deo took their oath together as the housing and local government minister, transport minister and communications and multimedia minister, respectively.

Then, Amanah deputy president Salahuddin Ayub, DAP vice-chairperson M Kulasegaran and Amanah strategic director Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad took their oath together as the agriculture and agro-based industry minister; human resource minister and health minister, respectively.

Mahathir was sworn in as the seventh prime minister on May 10, a day after Pakatan Harapan won the country’s 14th general election after defeating BN which had been in power for 61 years.

Mahathir is expected to name the rest of his cabinet line-up in stages.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Mahathir, Wan Azizah and the cabinet ministers and their spouses are scheduled to attend the breaking-of-the-fast with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

- Bernama

Read more from this author :
View Comments (0)
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent