Malaysiakini NEWS

Three Sabah PKR divisions head back to the polls

Bernama  |  Published:  |  Modified:

PKR POLLS | The PKR elections for three divisions in Sabah will be held again following the postponement of the election results on November 3 and 4, and will take place today and tomorrow.

The three divisions are Keningau, which will conduct the re-election process today, while re-elections for two other divisions, namely Tawau and Pensiangan, will be conducted tomorrow.

In Keningau, a Bernama check found that the re-election process at the PKR polling centre for the division was running smoothly with party members already starting to throng the venue at the Badminton Hall at the Keningau Sports Complex as early as 7am.

The voting process started at 9am and was expected to end at 4pm.

Security personnel were also stationed at the polling centre assisted by Civil Defence members to ensure safety and a peaceful voting process.

A total of 6,000 members in the division are eligible to vote in this re-election.

1,592 to vote again in Malacca

In Malacca, the re-election process for six divisions in the state tomorrow will involve a total of 1,592 voters.

According to a statement from the state PKR central election committee today, the Tangga Batu division will have the highest number of voters with 638 members, followed by Jasin with 412.

The Masjid Tanah division has 232 members, Kota Melaka 180, Hang Tuah Jaya 66 and Alor Gajah 64.

“The re-elections process will be held at five polling centres (as Masjid Tanah and Alor Gajah divisions are using the same polling centre) with the voting period from 10am to 5pm except at Hang Tuah Jaya division from 10am to 2pm,” the statement read.

The re-elections process for the Masjid Tanah and Alor Gajah divisions will be held at the Japerun Lendu Complex; the Kota Melaka division at Japerun Duyung hall; Hang Tuah Jaya at Melaka PKR office in Bukit Piatu; Jasin at Alamanda MPJ hall; and Tangga Batu division will be held at the Japerun Sungai Udang hall.

Previously, central election committee chairperson Rashid Din was reported to have said its panel had discussed and decided the re-election process, including at six divisions in Malacca, would be held due to missing voters’ data, technical problems and telecommunication disturbances.

The re-elections process at the six divisions only involve party members who turned up to vote on Oct 20.

- Bernama



Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000