King presents FT Day awards, only one lawmaker

Modified 20 Feb 2019, 4:49 am

Editor's note: An earlier version of this article had stated that there were no politicians among award recipients. A reader has notified Malaysiakini that this was not accurate. This article has been corrected. We regret the error.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah today presented Federal Territory awards and medals at Istana Negara in conjunction with Federal Territory Day 2019.

Interestingly, there was only one notable politician on the list - Hasanuddin Mohd Yunus, the Hulu Langat MP. 

Senior civil servant Jalil Marzuki, now director-general of the Legal Affairs Division in the Prime Minister's Department, led the list of recipients. He is the sole Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) award recipient this year.

Last year, there were twenty-two SMW awards, which carry the title of "Datuk Seri". Recipients included BN politicians Ahmad Maslan, Razali Ibrahim and M Saravanan, who were deputy ministers at the time, along with Federal Territories MCA head Yew Teong Look.

This year, a total of 200 awards were given out, down from 370 a year ago. It is understood that the list of recipients was vetted by the federal territories minister and the chief secretary to the government.

This investiture ceremony is relatively new, beginning in 2008.

Hasanuddin was among the 27 people who received the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) award, which carries the title of "Datuk". 

According to the official list of award recipients, Hasanuddin's award was related to his work with non-profit group Humanitarian Care Malaysia Bhd (MyCare). 

Hasanuddin and Federal Territories Minister Khalid Abdul Samad are both from the same party - Amanah.

The Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW) award was presented to 36 people, among whom was Sharifah Hayaati Syed Ismail, a senior lecturer at the Academy of Islamic Studies, Universiti Malaya.

Thirty-six Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) awards were presented to, among others, Women's Aid Organisation former executive director Ivy Josiah and national diver Nur Dhabitah Sabri.

Three other national athletes were among the 68 who received the Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW) medal. They are weightlifters Jabriella Teo Samuel and Muhammad Erry Hidayat Muhammad Hidayat, along with lawn bowler Nur Ain Nabilah Tarmizi.

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.