Malaysiakini BERITA

Eight ex-Sabah Umno leaders join Bersatu

Zikri Kamarulzaman  |  Diterbitkan  |  Dikemaskini

Four MPs, two senators and two state lawmakers - all of whom are former Sabah Umno members - have been officially accepted into Bersatu.

The latest entries into Bersatu mean that the party now has 26 MPs, while Pakatan Harapan will have 129 MPs.

Together with allies from Warisan and United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko), the ruling coalition now has the support of 139 MPs in total, or 63 percent of MPs in the Dewan Rakyat.

The four MPs are Azizah Mohd Dun (Beaufort), Ronald Kiandee (Beluran), Abdul Rahim Bakri (Kudat) and Zakaria Mohd Edris (Libaran).

The two state assemblypersons who joined Bersatu are Hajiji Haji Noor (Sulaman) and Masidi Manjun (Karanaan).

Senators Abdul Ghani Mohamad Yassin and John Ambrose also received their membership cards today.

Both of them were appointed to three-year terms as senators in January.

Ambrose, a former Umno Penampang division stalwart, was often cited in the past as a symbol of diversity in the party.

The eight received their membership cards today from Bersatu chairperson Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Sipitang MP Yamani Hafez Musa was originally speculated to be joining the eight today.

However, Mahathir said Yamani Hafez's membership had yet to be decided on. Yamani Hafez is the son of former Sabah chief minister Musa Aman.

Mahathir said membership of seven other Sabah assemblypersons who had quit Umno would only be decided when Bersatu officially sets up in Sabah on April 6.

'No problem'

Meanwhile, the prime minister reiterated that Bersatu in Sabah will support the current Warisan government.

"We have no desire to sideline or replace Warisan," he said.

Meanwhile, Hajiji - formerly Sabah Umno chief - said he had no qualms heading Bersatu in the state, adding that this, however, would be up to Mahathir to decide.

As for his ties with Sabah chief minister Shafie Apdal, Hajiji said he had met him several times.

"To me, there is no problem for us to cooperate (with Shafie and Warisan) and, of course, when we join Bersatu we will give support and cooperation to the state government," he said.