Jokowi declared winner of Indonesian presidential elections


Modified 21 May 2019, 11:56 am

Incumbent President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) was announced the winner of the Indonesian Presidential Election (Pilpres) 2019, to continue leading the world’s third largest democratic country for the next five years.

General Election Commission (KPU) announced the result of the Pilpres at 1.46 am (Western Indonesia time) today, a day earlier than expected, after the vote counting process at 813,350 polling centres was completed at 11.30 pm Monday.

Jokowi, 57, and his vice-presidential candidate, Ma'ruf Amin, 76, garnered 85,607,362 votes, while their rivals Prabowo Subianto, 67, and Sandiaga Uno, 49, secured 68,650,239 votes.

The 16.95 million-vote majority obtained by Jokowi was higher than the 6.4 million vote-majority he secured in the 2014 election, during which he was paired with Jusuf Kalla to defeat a Prabowo-Hatta Rajasa combination.

KPU chief Arief Budiman, when announcing the result, also called on all dissatisfied quarters to file their petition to challenge the result at the Constitutional Court.

“It must be done within three days after this announcement. If not, we will declare the victory to this winning candidate.

“If there is a petition, then we have to wait until the whole process of the Constitutional Court is solved. The swearing in of the new Indonesian President for the term 2019-2024 is scheduled for Oct 20, 2019,” he said.

The KPU had initially estimated the vote counting process at all 34 provinces in the country to complete on May 22.

The general elections were held in Indonesia on April 17.

- Bernama

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.