Factbox: Groups in the European Parliament



National parties in the newly elected European Parliament line up in pan-EU groups. 

These are in some flux following the vote, especially on the eurosceptic right, but in the outgoing legislature the eight groups were:

European People's Party (EPP - 180 seats in new legislature)

Lead candidate: Manfred Weber (Germany) EPP parliamentary leader

Centre-right: Favours free trade and business

Notables: German Chancellor Angela Merkel; outgoing European Commission chief Jean-Claude Juncker; Italian ex-premier Silvio Berlusconi; Polish EU summit chair Donald Tusk; Hungarian leader Viktor Orban, who is at risk of being expelled for anti-EU nationalism.

Socialists and Democrats (S&D - 146 seats)

Lead candidate: Frans Timmermans (Netherlands), deputy head of European Commission, former foreign minister

Centre-left: Favours worker’s rights, minimum corporate tax

Notables: Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez; Italian ex-premier Matteo Renzi; Swedish and Portuguese premiers.

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats (ALDE- 109 seats)

Lead candidates: Margrethe Vestager (Denmark), EU antitrust commissioner, former economy minister; Guy Verhofstadt (Belgium), ALDE leader, former prime minister

Liberal center: Favours free trade, stronger EU integration

Notables: French President Emmanuel Macron, though he is yet to formally link to ALDE; Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte; premiers of Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Luxembourg, Estonia

Greens (69 seats)

Lead candidates: Ska Keller (Germany) MEP since 2009; Bas Eickhout (Netherlands) MEP since 2009

Ecology: Left-leaning, seeks clean energy and environment

Notables: No national leaders; EU party leader, veteran Belgian MEP Philippe Lamberts; one high-profile government figure was Joschka Fischer, German foreign minister 1998-2005.

European Conservatives and Reformers (ECR - 59 seats)

Lead candidate: Jan Zahradil (Czech Republic), MEP since 2004.

Eurosceptic: Founded in 2009 when British Conservative leader David Cameron quit EPP to oppose deeper EU integration.

Notables: Polish ruling party leader Jaroslaw Kaczynski; Flemish nationalist N-VA leader Bart de Wever; Jimmie Akesson of anti-immigration Sweden Democrats; and – for this week at least – British Prime Minister Theresa May.

Europe of Nations and Freedom (ENF - 58 seats)

Lead candidate: No lead candidate; expect group to reshuffle after election.

Anti-immigration: Founded in 2015 by French National Rally’s Marine Le Pen and Dutch Freedom Party’s Geert Wilders.

Other notables: Matteo Salvini, Italian deputy premier from The League, biggest far-right party in new Parliament.

Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD - 54 seats)

Lead candidate: No lead candidate; expect group to reshuffle after election.

Anti-EU: Formed in 2014 by Nigel Farage, then-leader of UK Independence Party, now of the Brexit Party; key ally Italy’s 5-Star expected to shift to more centrist group after election.

Other notables: Italian deputy premier Luigi Di Maio of 5-Star; Joerg Meuthen, co-leader of Alternative for Germany.

European United Left (GUE - 39)

Lead candidates: Nico Cue (Belgium), trade union leader; Violeta Tomic (Slovenia), parliamentarian.

Far left: Anti-austerity, want more spending, trade control.

Notables: Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras.

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.