Dewan Negara to also see motion compelling senators to declare assets

Modified 20 Jul 2019, 7:51 am

PARLIAMENT | The Dewan Negara will follow in the footsteps of the Dewan Rakyat, where a motion will be tabled in the House to compel all senators, both government and opposition, to declare their assets.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Liew Vui Keong (above) is expected to table the motion in the Dewan Negara on Monday.

Liew, at a conference in Sandakan, confirmed the matter.

"On Monday, (a motion) will be tabled at the Dewan Negara for all senators to declare their assets," he said.

The motion has appeared on the Dewan Negara Order Paper for Monday and carries similar wording to the motion tabled and approved in the Dewan Rakyat.

This motion calls for all MPs to declare their assets, as well as that of their spouses, children and trustees in line with "accountability and transparency."

The MPs will be asked to furnish the information within three months from the approval of the motion, with a copy to be sent to the MACC to be published on its website.

On a separate matter, Liew said more work needs to be done, even though the necessary constitutional amendments have been approved by the Dewan Rakyat to allow 18-year-olds to vote and contest in the election, as well as automatic voter registration.

He urged the Dewan Negara to also approve the amendments with the required two-thirds majority.

Subsequently, he said amendments to election-related laws and Election Commission (EC) regulations will also be necessary to implement the approved changes to the constitution.

"All consequential amendments will be made in October. We will need to change the EC regulations to allow the changes to come into force," he said.

Liew said he expects all legislative hurdles to be completed by next year.

He added once automatic voter registration comes into force, there would be an estimated 22.7 million voters when Parliament expires in 2023 and the general election kicks in.

There was a total of 14.94 million eligible voters in the 2018 general election, of which 12.08 million voted.

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.