Perak MB backs PN, PKR rep defects – another state gov't falls
Published:  Mar 9, 2020 11:37 AM
Updated: 5:52 AM

Perak Menteri Besar Ahmad Faizal Azumu has announced that the state Bersatu, Umno and PAS have agreed to form a new ruling coalition.

This is the third state government to fall to Perikatan Nasional (PN) following the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan federal government on Feb 24.

In a press conference in Ipoh this morning, Faizal said PKR assemblyperson for Kuala Kurau and state exco Abdul Yunus Jamahri as well as former Umno assemblyperson Nolee Ashilin Mohammed Radzi, who served as an independent lawmaker, have joined Bersatu.

Following this, PN now controls 32 of the 59-seat state assembly, leaving Harapan with 27 seats.

The breakdown of seats for the PN government is Bersatu 4, Umno 25 and PAS 3. Whereas for Harapan, DAP has 18, Amanah 6 and PKR 3.

Following the 2018 general election, Faizal was the sole Bersatu assemblyperson in Perak after winning the Chenderiang seat. Later, former Umno assemblyperson Zainol Fadzi (Sungai Manik) joined Bersatu.

During the Tanjung Piai by-election last November, a video recording depicted Faizal lamenting how he was waging a lone battle against DAP to protect the rights and interests of the Malays and Islam.

“I am fighting alone with the DAP clans. I want to defend the Malay land and to fight for our religion. I am doing this slowly," he had said.

Please join the Malaysiakini WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news and views that matter.