Most Read
Most Commented
Govt to end CMCO in most areas, cites RM300m per day loss to economy
Published:  Dec 5, 2020 9:03 AM
Updated: 11:05 AM

The government will not extend the conditional movement control order (MCO) in most areas, citing economic pressures.

The exceptions include Sabah, Kuala Lumpur, most of Selangor, as well as parts of Johor and Negeri Sembilan.

Defence Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the if conditional MCO were to continue, the country's GDP would lose RM300 million each day.

As such, the conditional MCO which is set to expire tomorrow, will not be extended and revert to the recovery MCO - except in certain areas.

The details are as follows:

Selangor: Conditional MCO extended to Dec 20, except for Sabak Bernam, Hulu Selangor and Kuala Selangor.

Kuala Lumpur: Conditional MCO extended to Dec 20.

Putrajaya: Conditional MCO over.

Negeri Sembilan: Conditional MCO over, except for Seremban and Port Dickson.

Sabah: Conditional MCO extended to Dec 20. The enhanced MCO on K Avenue Megacity in Penampang was lifted today.

Labuan: Conditional MCO over.

Penang: Conditional MCO over except in Mukim 12 Barat Daya, and Mukim 13 Timur Laut

However, two localities, namely Flat Jalan Paya Terubong, Relau; and Flat Desa Bistari, Batu Uban, will be under enhanced MCO until Dec 20.

Perak: Conditional MCO over except for Kinta district and Mukim Teja, Kampar, and Mukim Changkat Jong, Hilir Perak

Enhanced MCO in Zone B and Zone C in Taman Meru 2C have also been lifted today, but the same restriction is imposed on Immigration detention depot in Langkap and its quarters in Hilir Perak until Dec 19.

Kelantan: Conditional MCO over except in Kota Bharu, Machang, Tanah Merah, and Pasir Mas districts.

However, Madrasah Ad-Diniah Al Falahiah in Pasir Puteh will be under enhanced MCO until Dec 20.

Johor: Conditional MCO for Johor Bahru, Batu Pahat, Kulai, Kota Tinggi until Dec 20, ends for Mersing.

Terengganu: No conditional MCO.

Pahang: No conditional MCO.

Kedah: No conditional MCO, except for Kulim.

Perlis: No conditional MCO.

Malacca: No conditional MCO.

Sarawak: No conditional MCO.

Enhanced MCO will also be enforced in several areas with a high number of Covid-19 cases.

View Comments