Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
Five states to enter Phase 2 of NRP on July 5
Published:  Jul 3, 2021 3:33 PM
Updated: 11:54 AM

Five states will enter Phase 2 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) on July 5.

The states are Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Perak and Perlis.

According to Defence Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Finance Minister Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz, these five states have met the various thresholds to enter Phase 2.

This is in terms of a seven-day average of Covid-19 cases, ICU capacity and vaccination rates.

It was shared at the press conference today that the thresholds are set based on the state's population.

The calculations are as per the following graphic.

Charts shared during the press conference indicated that in terms of daily cases, Perlis is at Phase 4 levels while Terengganu and Sabah are at Phase 3 levels.

However, as per the NRP, the criteria for ICU capacity and vaccination rates must also be met to transition from one phase to another.

Of the five states, Zafrul said Kelantan and Terengganu, in particular, recorded a nearly 80 percent reduction of cases since April.

Ismail Sabri, meanwhile, said the bulk of daily cases in Selangor had impacted all other states.

Among the changes in standard operating procedures under Phase 2, Ismail Sabri said long-distance couples can apply for permission from the police to travel across districts or states for an emergency or special circumstances including expected childbirth or to help care for a newborn child.

He said the government will continue to monitor indicators in all five states for signs of progress to Phase 3 as well as for other states to transition to Phase 2.

Ismail Sabri also reiterated that movement from all areas - including those under an enhanced MCO - to vaccination centres is allowed with a leeway of three persons in a car to accommodate e-hailing and taxi users accompanying an elderly or persons with disabilities.