Anti-Fake News Bill passed, backed by 11 PAS MPs, ex-MB
Published:  Apr 2, 2018 10:20 AM
Updated: 1:45 PM

PARLIAMENT | The Dewan Rakyat today passed the Anti-Fake News Bill 2018 with a vote of 123 for and 64 against.

Interestingly, the bill received some support from the opposition bench as all 11 PAS MPs who were present voted in favour of the bill.

PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang (PAS-Marang) and PAS information chief Nasrudin Hassan (PAS-Temerloh) were absent during the proceedings.

Of the two independents, Sim Tong Him (IND-Kota Melaka) voted against the bill while former Selangor menteri besar Abdul Khalid Ibrahim (IND-Bandar Tun Razak) supported it.

The Pakatan Harapan bloc, along with MPs from PSM and Warisan, voted against the bill.

At the time of writing, Malaysiakini is unable to establish who on the Harapan bench were absent, although it was confirmed that Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz (DAP-Raub) was on medical leave while four DAP MPs are serving out their suspensions by the House speaker.

During the debate on the bill, Mohd Khairuddin Aman Razali (PAS-Kuala Nerus) complained that his party was a victim of fake news.

Last week, the vote on the Election Commission's report on the redrawing of electoral boundaries was slightly closer with 129 voting to adopt the new boundaries and 80 against.

At that time, all 11 PAS MPs who were present voted against the new boundaries while Abdul Khalid voted in favour.

Read more like this :
View Comments
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent