Malaysiakini Special Report

EC redelineation: Which MPs did not cast their vote and why

Kow Gah Chie  |  Published:  |  Modified:

The Election Commission's redelineation report was on Wednesday passed by Parliament with 129 votes to 80, and gazetted within 24 hours, bringing the new electoral boundaries for the 14th general election into effect.

However, unlike many developed democracies, the voting record is not immediately available, making it difficult for the public to know who voted and how they did so.

For the Dewan Rakyat, the voting record was previously made available through documents distributed to the respective MPs after the entire session is over. However, MPs have complained that this practice was stopped since 2015.

In the interest of public accountability, Malaysiakini pored through footage of the bloc voting on Wednesday to see who did or did not attend the vote. The information gathered was further verified with a number of MPs who were there at the time.

Malaysiakini also reached out to MPs who were absent or their associates to explain why they were missing from the House during the vote...

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000