Malaysiakini NEWS

Second Sabah BN component party quits the coalition

Published:  |  Modified:

A second Sabah BN component party, the Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), has quit the former ruling coalition.

LDP president Teo Chee Kang said this was in light of the results of the 14th general election, in which the party lost in all four state seats and one Parliament seat it contested.

"Taking heed of the clear message that Malaysians want a change in the regime, I discussed with the majority of my supreme council members. The general consensus is to take a step back and pull out from BN," Teo said in a statement this evening.

He added that LDP would hold an emergency supreme council meeting tonight to chart the party's path from here.

Yesterday, United Pasokmomogun Kadazan Murut Organisation (Upko) acting president Wilfred Madius Tangau announced that the party’s supreme council has decided to leave BN and join Warisan.

Three Upko state assemblypersons and two Umno assemblypersons appeared with Warisan president Shafie Apdal today in a bid to form the new state government.

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000