Malaysiakini News

MIC polls: 43 division chiefs set to be disqualified

B Nantha Kumar  |  Published:  |  Modified:

Opposition party MIC is set to undergo a minor transition in its leadership lineup, with 43 of its division chiefs losing their eligibility to defend their posts in the upcoming party polls. 

According to a 2009 amendment to the MIC constitution, division chiefs who have held their positions for three consecutive terms will be automatically disqualified from contesting a fourth.

"Thus, in this elections, 43 division chiefs are set to be disqualified. 

"However, they can contest for other positions, in other divisions," a source told Malaysiakini , adding that this would mean 43 new division chiefs for the 2018-2021 term.

The source also stated that Perak leads the list, with 10 division chiefs set to be disqualified, followed by Pahang (seven), Selangor (five), and Johor and Kedah with four divisions each. 

The transition also involves three in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, and two each in Penang, Negeri Sembilan and Malacca. The remaining four leaders are from Terengganu, Kelantan, Perlis and Labuan.

For the record, the MIC liaison body in Sabah was dissolved after BN lost in the 14th general election on May 9. 

Port Dickson MIC division chief R Balakrishnan welcomed the move to observe the amendments to the party constitution, saying it would make way for fresh faces to lead. 

"I support the move to limit the division chiefs' tenure. This will, in stages, change the face of MIC, which has thus far, been represented by old faces," he told Malaysiakini when contacted. 

The election for MIC divisions is set to take places in stages, from Aug 10 to Aug 12. 

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000