Malaysiakini News

Gov't to upgrade 11 non-specialist hospitals, says minister

Bernama  |  Published:  |  Modified:

PARLIAMENT | The Health Ministry will upgrade 11 non-specialist hospitals nationwide to minor specialist hospitals to further extend medical specialist services to those living in rural areas, the Dewan Rakyat was told today.

Its deputy minister Dr Lee Boon Chye said among the hospitals were Gerik Hospital, Kuala Kangsar Hospital and Taiping Hospital in Perak; Tampin Hospital in Negeri Sembilan; and Kota Tinggi Hospital in Johor.

The upgrade would also involve Besut Hospital and Dungun Hospital in Terengganu; Gua Musang Hospital in Kelantan; Beaufort Hospital and Kota Marudu Hospital in Sabah; as well as Mukah Hospital in Sarawak.

“Other non-specialist hospitals would be turned into cluster hospitals where medical specialist services will be sought from nearby hospitals,” he said.

Lee was replying to a supplementary question from Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (BN-Sabak Bernam) on government's plans in fulfilling the needs to have specialist doctors in rural areas.

In replying to another supplementary question from Mohd Fasiah on the number of existing hospitals nationwide, Lee said there were 145 government hospitals so far including 75 specialist hospitals, 18 minor specialist hospitals, 14 state hospitals, 10 special institutions/hospitals and eight major specialist hospitals.

“There are plans to build six new specialist hospitals under the 10th and 11th Malaysia Plans. However, it depends on the current financial situation and availability of manpower,” he said.

- Bernama

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000