story image
Four Sabah Umno grassroots leaders quit over dispute with Batu Sapi chief

A former state assemblyperson and three divisional leaders today announced their resignation from Umno.

They are former Sekong assemblyperson Samsudin Yahya, Batu Sapi Umno deputy chief Zantapha Jainil Abidin, Batu Sapi Umno Wanita vice-chief Suhana Ag Tahir, and Batu Sapi Puteri Umno chief Hazulizah Md Dani.

Samsudin said at a press conference in Sandakan that the four leaders had lost confidence in Batu Sapi Umno chief Khairul Firdaus Akhbar Khan because he had allegedly failed to restore the confidence of the party members and the people in the party.

He said they had confidence in Sabah Umno chief Hajiji Noor instead.

“We will give full support to any measure taken by Hajiji to continue with our political struggle henceforth. 

"We also express our full support for Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad,” he said.

Samsudin joined Umno 27 years ago and served as the Sekong assemblyperson and Batu Sapi Umno chief for 15 years.

He failed to retain the Sekong seat in the 14th general election, losing it to Arifin Asgali of Parti Warisan Sabah.

Samsudin spoke of the need for a party that can champion the interests of the Malays and Sabah bumiputeras in tandem with the federal political leadership.

- Bernama

Read more from this author :
Read more like this :
View Comments
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent