Most Read
Most Commented
Faced with yet another defected MP, Bandar Tun Razak PKR says still behind party
Published:  Feb 26, 2020 5:44 AM
Updated: 8:32 AM

In the span of just six years, the voters of the Bandar Tun Razak parliamentary constituency has had two MPs change allegiance from the original ticket they were elected on.

In 2014, the constituency had Khalid Ibrahim as MP. He was also the then Port Klang assemblyperson and Selangor menteri besar who went rogue and won't listen to his party, PKR.

PKR sacked him, and he eventually gravitated towards PAS, helping the Islamist party to campaign in by-elections.

The seat returned to PKR's hands when Kamarudin Jaffar won the constituency with 41,126 votes to Umno's 21,196 votes and PAS' 7,884 votes.

But less than two years later, PKR again lost control of its MP when Kamarudin, quit the party with 10 other MPs to form an independent bloc.

The bloc, led by former PKR deputy president Azmin Ali, had tried to form a new coalition, dubbed "Perikatan Nasional" with Bersatu, BN, PAS, GPS and Warisan to replace the Pakatan Harapan government.

The Bandar Tun Razak PKR division leadership today called a press conference to assure that they have not defected with their MP.

"Taking cognisance of the current political situation in the country, Bandar Tun Razak PKR would like to state that the entire leadership stands firmly and loyally behind the principles of and idealism of PKR.

"We also state our full support for PKR president Anwar Ibrahim to become the eighth prime minister," the division said.

Perikatan Nasional failed to materialise after BN and PAS pulled out.


Harapan backing Anwar as PM but is there a deal?

Malaysiakini LIVE reports

I'm always patient and confident, says Anwar

'We're watching you,' MACC warns MPs

Rais reveals details of negotiations with Umno and PAS

Malacca CM briefs Yang di-Pertua Negeri on current political situation

Adun Speaks: Backdoor gov't plot destroying democracy and economy

Comment: A plague on both coalitions, we need a Third Force

Comment: What is Mahathir's next move?

Comment: Dissecting developments in wake of Harapan gov’t demise

View Comments