Azhar resigns, Azmi assumes duty of EC chairperson


Modified 9 Jul 2020, 12:04 pm

Azhar Azizan Harun has resigned as chairperson of the Election Commission (EC) effective June 29.

The EC in a statement today said that its deputy chairperson Azmi Sharom will assume the duty of EC chairperson until a new one is appointed in accordance with Article 114 (7) of the Federal Constitution.

All Access Plan
starting from


per month
Subscribe Now
You can cancel anytime.
Get unlimited access to our articles on web and apps
Add comments to our articles
Bookmark articles to read later
We accept
Student or Senior Citizen? Get a special rateGroup / Institutional / Corporate Plans
Already Subscribed?
Sign In