Asset declaration deadline today - only 160 MPs submit forms

Only 160 MPs have submitted their asset declaration forms to Dewan Rakyat as the deadline to do so ends today, said speaker Mohamad Ariff Mohd Yusof.

In a statement released to the media earlier this evening, Mohamad Ariff revealed that opposition MPs comprised the majority of the 62 who had not done so.

Of those who did not submit their declarations, 38 were BN parliamentarians (including 36 Umno and one each from MCA and MIC), 18 from PAS, three from Sarawak Parties Coalition (GPS), one from Star (Sabah-based Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku Rakyat Sabah), and two independent MPs.

Mohamad Ariff also noted MCA's Wee Jeck Seng, who was just sworn in after winning the Tanjung Piai by-election last month, had not submitted his form.

According to the release, only three BN MPs from Umno and MCA had submitted their forms to the August House.

Meanwhile, all 139 MPs from the Pakatan Harapan ruling coalition had submitted their forms to Mohamad Ariff.

For the record, Dewan Rakyat members are compelled to make their asset declaration after the parliament passed a motion on the matter through a voice vote on July 1.

The motion was passed despite opposition lawmakers earlier arguing that Putrajaya had brought up an illegal motion in the House.

Show your support for robust journalism

Millions depend on Malaysiakini for the truth. Millions depend on Malaysiakini for quality journalism. Millions depend on Malaysiakini to stand in honour of integrity and justice.

Without a mafia owner to dictate our journalism; free from political or commercial influence, Malaysiakini has only one boss - you, the rakyat.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your love for our country, your trust and respect in us to do our job in holding the powerful to account. We depend on your subscription to protect the sanctity of our journalism. Thank you.

Malaysiakini Team

Read more from this author :
View Comments
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent