Most Read
Most Commented
Read more like this
Muhyiddin dropped, Zahid named as DPM
Published:  Jul 28, 2015 1:17 PM
Updated: 9:03 AM

Muhyiddin Yassin has been dropped as deputy prime minister in the latest cabinet reshuffle unveiled by Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak this afternoon.

Umno vice-president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has been named as the new number two and would also retain the home ministry portfolio.

Speculation had been rife that Muhyiddin, who is also Umno deputy president, would be axed due to his critical remarks regarding the 1MDB imbroglio.

Also axed is another vocal critic of 1MDB Mohd Shafie Apdal.

The Umno vice-president from Sabah was the rural and regional development minister.

A new appointment to the cabinet is Salleh Said Keruak, who is the current Sabah state assembly speaker.

The staunch Najib supporter, who often defends the prime minister on his blog, is the new communication and multimedia minister.

He replaces Ahmad Shabery Cheek who would now oversee the agriculture and agro-based industry portfolio.

Najib was flanked by Zahid when the new cabinet announcement was made at the Prime Minister's Office in Putrajaya.

Najib said he hoped the new cabinet line-up would committ to the programmes underlined by his BN government adding the Yang di Pertuan Agong would preside over their oath-taking ceremony at 10am tomorrow at the Istana Negara.

The announcement, carried live over television, saw the dropping of five ministers and the appointment of seven new ministers.

New federal ministers

  • Wilfred Madius Tangau (science, technology and innovation minister)


  • Hamzah Zainudin (domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism minister)

  • Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (natural resources and environment minister)

  • Mahdzir Khalid (education minister)

  • Azalina Othman Said (minister in the Prime Minister's Department)

  • Ong Ka Chuan (international trade and industry minister II)

  • Mohd Salleh Tun Said Keruak - communications and multimedia minister.
  • New deputy ministers

    • Mohd Johari Baharum (deputy defence minister)


  • Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (deputy tourism and culture minister)

  • Nur Jazlan Mohamed (deputy home minister)
    • Senator Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki (deputy minister in the Prime Minister's Department [religious affairs])


  • Senator Chong Sin Woon (deputy education minister)
    • Reezal Merican Naina Merican (deputy foreign minister)


  • Ahmad Jazlan bin Yaakob (deputy rural and regional development minister)
    • Masri anak Kujat - deputy home minister


  • Johari Abdul Ghani – deputy finance minister.
  • Dropped ministers

    The ministers dropped were:

    • Muhyiddin Yassin (formely deputy prime minister/education minister)


  • Mohd Shafie Apdal (formerly rural and regional development minister)

  • Hasan Malek (formelry domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism minister)

  • G Palanivel (formerly natural resources and environment minister)

  • Ewon Ebin (formerly science, technology and innovation minister)
  • Related reports

    Najib's new cabinet line up

    MPs urged to unite against Najib if DPM sacked

    'AG's removal bolsters conspiracy claim'

    Beneath DPM to be at odds with PM: Zahid

    'DPM's wrong, Umno won't lose GE due to 1MDB'

    Reports: PM does cabinet reshuffle; DPM axed?

    All cabinet decisions are collective, says minister

    Have battle lines been drawn in Umno?

    ‘Datuk’ held over 1MDB probe released

    Will Muhyiddin hit the Musa trail?

    Gani Patail replaced as attorney-general shocker

    PAC chief: Onus on audit team to reveal report

    How just a day’s event can change lives

    Media ban not to protect nation, but Umno

    DPM said what needed to be said on 1MDB


    Please join the Malaysiakini WhatsApp Channel to get the latest news and views that matter.