Malaysiakini News

Chow Kon Yeow sworn in as Penang CM

Low Chia Ming  |  Published:  |  Modified:

Padang Kota assemblyperson Chow Kon Yeow was sworn in today as the fifth chief minister of Penang at Seri Mutiara, the residence of governor Abdul Rahman Abbas.

Also present were former chief minister Lim Guan Eng, Iskandar Puteri MP Lim Kit Siang, former Penang speaker Law Choo Kiang, and all Pakatan Harapan MPs and assemblypersons.

State secretary Farizan Darus was also in attendance.

While the sole PAS Penaga assemblyperson Yusni Mat Piah was present, notably absent were the two state assemblypersons from Umno.

In last week's polls, Harapan won 37 state seats out of 40, and 11 Parliament seats out of 13.

[More to follow]


Roundup of state gov'ts: Where each state stands, five days after GE

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000