Malaysiakini News

Official: Anwar wins PD by-election with bigger majority

Published:  |  Modified:

PD POLLS | PKR president-elect Anwar Ibrahim has won the Port Dickson by-election with a 23,560-vote majority, and is expected to be sworn in at Parliament on Monday.

According to the Election Commission, Anwar bagged 31,016 votes, while runner-up Mohd Nazari Mokhtar from PAS secured 7,456 votes.

Turnout was at 58.25 percent.

Despite the lower turnout, Anwar's 23,560-vote majority eclipses that of PKR's Danyal Balagopal Abdullah, who won the seat in the 14th general election by a margin of 17,710 votes.

An analysis of voting results by Malaysiakini, however, indicates that the vote share may have been different had BN contested.

Four polling districts won by BN on May 9 – Kampong Jimah Baru, Si Rusa, Linggi and Kampong Sungai Raya  – were won by Anwar this time around.

However, voting patterns suggest that although there was some swing towards Pakatan Harapan, many BN supporters appear to have boycotted the by-election.

Meanwhile, all independent candidates, including former Umno vice-president Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, will lose the security deposits submitted to the EC to contest in the by-election.

Candidates have to obtain at least one-eighth of the total votes cast in order to secure a deposit refund.

Isa obtained 4,230 votes, while Anwar's former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan garnered the lowest number of votes, with just 82.

Entrepreneur Stevie Chan, meanwhile, obtained 337 votes; Lau Seck Yan, 214; and Kan Chee Yuen, 154.

Follow Malaysiakini's live report on the Port Dickson by-election results here.


Live results: Port Dickson by-election 2018

Malay support for Harapan increases as Anwar returns to politics

Anwar: Dr M 'very proud' of my victory in Port Dickson

Official: Anwar wins PD by-election with bigger majority

D-Day live blog: Final PD voter turnout is at 58.3 percent - EC

Isa Samad denies sponsoring 'Nasi Arab', says it was his supporters

EC hits out at quarters still questioning Anwar's eligibility

EC nixes PAS, Harapan vote-fishing outside polling station

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000