Malaysiakini NEWS

Ramasamy, Zairil defeated in Penang DAP polls

Published:  |  Modified:

Penang Deputy Chief Minister P Ramasamy and state exco Zairil Khir Johari have been defeated in the state DAP polls.

However, both were reappointed into the new Penang DAP leadership as co-opted members.

It was a drastic reversal of fate for Zairil, who had won the third highest votes in the last state DAP election in 2015. Ramasamy had come in the sixth position.  

However, both failed to make into the top 15 in the state party election.

DAP, unlike other parties, do not elect candidates for specific positions.

Instead, the candidates will vie for the top 15 spots.

Following the election, the top 15 winners will then elect among themselves to the respective positions.

Another five members are also co-opted, normally from among the losing candidates, making up the 20-member state committee.

According to Kwong Wah Yit Poh, Zairil was asked if his defeat had anything to do with his private life.

He was quoted as saying that he was unclear and could not speculate.

Zairil became engaged with his protege Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud in March after a divorce.

Dyana was the DAP candidate for Teluk Intan in 2014 but was defeated.

The new Penang DAP line-up is as follows:

Chairperson: Chow Kon Yeow

Deputy chairperson: Jagdeep Singh

Vice-chairperson I: P Ramasamy (co-opted)

Vice-chairperson II: Zairil Khir Zohari (co-opted)

Secretary: Lim Hui Ying

Assistant secretary: Yeoh Soon Hin

Treasurer: Wong Hon Wai

Assistant treasurer: Law Heng Kiang

Organising secretary: Jason H’ng Mooi Lye

Assistant organising secretary: Lay Hock Peng, Teh Lai Heng

Publicity secretary: Sim Chee Keong

Assistant publicity secretary: Syerleena Abdul Rashid (co-opted)

Political education director: Soon Lip Chee

Committee members:

Phee Boon Poh

Ramkarpal Singh

Ng Wei Aik

Phee Boon Chee

RSN Rayer (co-opted)

Lim Siew Khim (co-opted)

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000