Rulers to elect new king on Jan 24

Modified 7 Jan 2019, 9:37 am

The Conference of Rulers will convene on Jan 24 to elect the next Yang di-pertuan Agong, with the swearing-in ceremony to take place on Jan 31.

This was decided during a special meeting of the rulers at Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur this morning.

Of the nine state monarchs, six were present at the meeting – Tuanku Syed Sirajudin Syed Putra Jamalullail (Perlis), Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin (Terengganu), Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar (Johor), Sultan Sallehuddin Shah (Kedah), Sultan Nazrin Shah (Perak) and Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir (Negeri Sembilan).

Kelantan ruler Sultan Muhammad V, whose resignation as the 15th Yang di-pertuan Agong was announced yesterday, did not attend.

Also absent were the rulers of Pahang and Selangor, Sultan Ahmad Shah and Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah.

According to a media statement, keeper of the royal seal Syed Danial Syed Ahmad said Sultan Ahmad Shah is unwell, whereas Sultan Sharafuddin is overseas.

Syed Danial said the rulers also expressed their appreciation to Sultan Muhammad V for executing his duties as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong with integrity and responsibility.

Sultan Muhammad V became the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Dec 13, 2016. His tenure was scheduled to end in 2021.

Until the new king is installed, Perak ruler Sultan Nazrin, who is the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, will serve as acting king.


Dr M hopes for new king soon, needs audience on 'certain matters'

Rulers meeting ends, Sultan Nazrin to serve as acting king

No need to question Sultan Muhammad V's decision - Mohd Amar

Perak PKR says no need to question 'royal' wedding