News Malaysiakini

Rafidah, Zeti among members of council to tackle economy, living cost


The Prime Minister's Office (PMO) today unveiled the composition of the Economic Action Council which will be headed by Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The PMO said the council will scrutinise and act on the country's economic and financial issues on top of matters relating to the people's welfare.

"The goal of the council is to boost and stimulate sustainable economic growth, equitable wealth distribution and improving people's lives.

"This council will also scrutinise issues relating to the cost of living, human resource, poverty and homeownership," it said in a statement today.

The council will comprise of the following individuals:

Dr Mahathir Mohamad (Prime Minister - chairperson)

Azmin Ali (Economic Affairs Minister)

Lim Guan Eng (Finance Minister)

Ignatius Darell Leiking (International Trade and Industry Minister)

Baru Bian (Works Minister)

Muhammed Abdul Khalid (Economic adviser to the prime minister)

Rafidah Aziz (Former international trade and industry minister)

Zeti Akhtar Aziz (Permodalan Nasional Berhad chairperson)

Jomo Kwame Sundaram (Council of Eminent Persons member)

Tay Ah Lek (Public Bank managing director)

Hasnita Hashim (Mara chairperson)

Shireen Ann Zaharah Muhiudeen (Bursa Malaysia chairperson)

Mohd Munir Abdul Majid (Asean Business Advisory Council, Malaysia chairperson)

Paul Selvaraj (Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations chief executive officer)

Bah Tony @ Amani William Hunt Abdullah (Lawyer)

Nizam Mahshar (Insitut Masa board of trustee member)

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000