Most Read
Most Commented
Five ministers head recipients list for Malacca state awards

Rural Development Minister Rina Mohd Harun (above) heads the list of 419 recipients of the state awards and medals in conjunction with the Yang diPertua Negeri of Malacca Mohd Khalil Yaakob’s 80th birthday yesterday.

Rina, who is Titiwangsa MP and also Pakatan Harapan Wanita deputy chief, was among the 14 recipients of the Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM), which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Malacca Chief Minister Adly Zahari said the other recipients of the DGSM award were Health Minister Dr Dzulkeply Ahmad; Entrepreneur Development Minister Mohd Redzuan MD Yusof; Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Saifuddin Nasution Ismail and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Religion) Mujahid Yusof.

"Civil service director-general Borhan Dolah; Malacca state secretary Roslan Ibrahim; Deputy Primary Industries Minister Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin; Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry secretary-general Jamil Salleh and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) adviser Ahmad Awang.

"Works Department director-general Roslan Md Taha; Kuala Linggi International Port managing director Noormustafa Kamal Yahya; Fazil Group managing director Mohamad Fazil Shafie; GUH Holding Sdn Bhd managing director H'ng Bak Tee," he said in a statement in Malacca today.

Adly said Rina, who is also the head of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia’s (Bersatu) women’s wing, Srikandi, received her award, together with 160 other award recipients, at the first session of the investiture ceremony today.

The remaining 258 recipients would receive their awards at the second session of the investiture ceremony, scheduled on Nov 10.

He said nine people received the Darjah Cemerlang Seri Melaka (DCSM), which carried the title “Datuk Wira” and they included Malacca State Legislative Assembly Speaker Omar Jaafar; Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (National Unity and Social Harmony) Md Farid Md Rafik; Deputy Entrepreneur Development Minister Mohd Hatta Md Ramli and Malacca police chief Raja Shahrom Raja Abdullah.

"Consultant physician and gastroenterologist Dr L Suresh Raj; Safz Auto Sdn Bhd executive director Muhamad Faizal Zainol; China Investment Association-Foreign Investment Union honorary chairman Md Wira Dani Abdul Daim and chairman of the Asian Secretariat for the Assembly of Ulama, Abdul Ghani Samsudin," he said.

A total of 18 people are awarded the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM) , which carries the “Datuk” title, and they include Malacca Industry, Trade and Investment Committee chairman Mohd Rafiq Naizamohideen; Malacca Housing, Local Government and Enviroment Committee chairman Tey Kok Kiew; Malacca Tourism, Heritage and Culture Committee chairman Muhammad Jailani Khamis and Malacca Public Works, Transport and Public Utilities Committee chairman Mohd Sofi Abdul Wahab.

"Malacca state financial officer Hanafi Sakri; Melaka Legal Adviser Mohamad Abazafree Mohd Abbas; Malacca State Legislative Assembly deputy speaker Wong Fort Pin; Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) vice-president Senator Husam Musa and deputy Auditor-General Zulkipli Abdullah," he said.

Adly said the Darjah Pangkuan Seri Melaka (DPSM), with the title “Datuk” was conferred on 59 people this year and they included Malaysian Ambassador to Myanmar Zahairi Baharim; Malacca deputy state secretary (development) Salhah Salleh; Malacca Land and Mines director Zaidi Johari and Malacca ICT head Wahilman Siwar.

Others are Malacca chief minister's senior private secretary Mariam Ilias; Medical and Nephrology consultant at Melaka Putra Specialist Hospital Dr K Parameswaran; Concord Green Energy Sdn Bhd deputy chief executive officer Abdul Malik Mohd Hussin; Syarikat Kujaya Group director Wan Kian Han and former national athlete M Ramachandran, he said.

He also said 18 would be awarded the Darjah Seri Melaka (DSM); Bintang Cemerlang Melaka (BCM) (35); Bintang Khidmat Terpuji (BKT) (72); Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK) (100); Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM) (87); and Pingat Khidmat Lama (PKL) (seven).

-- Bernama

View Comments