story image
Conference of Rulers conclude meeting to elect new Agong

The special meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara to elect the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong concluded at 12.45 pm.

The Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal, Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, is expected to issue an official statement on the election this evening.

The meeting, chaired by Terengganu ruler Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin started at 11.15 am.

Eight of the nine Malay Rulers attended the meeting. Kelantan ruler Sultan Muhammad V, who resigned as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Jan 6, did not attend the meeting.

Besides Sultan Mizan, the other Malay Rulers in attendance were Perak ruler Sultan Nazrin Shah, Johor ruler Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, Kedah ruler Sultan Sallehuddin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah, and Perlis ruler Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail.

Pahang ruler Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, Selangor ruler Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, and Negeri Sembilan ruler Tuanku Muhriz Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir also attended the meeting.

The election was to fill the vacancy in the office of the Agong following the resignation of Sultan Muhammad V.

- Bernama

Read more from this author :
View Comments (0)
Most Read
Most Commented
Most Recent