Malaysiakini NEWS

Esszone curfew extended to June 10

Published:  |  Modified:

The curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone), which ends today, has been extended to June 10.

Sabah police commissioner Omar Mammah in a statement today said the curfew from 6pm to 6am covers the waters off Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

He said people living in the area are required to stay indoors, and outsiders are not allowed to enter or be in the declared areas from 6pm to 6am during the period.

"The extension of the curfew is to ensure that the waters concerned are not intruded by terrorists, who could threaten the security of international researchers and tourists visiting the resort islands.

“At the same time, it is also to ensure the security and well-being of Sabahans using of the waters in the Esszone,” he said.

However, those who depend on the sea for a living are allowed to get special permits from the police to enable them to operate during curfew hours.

- Bernama

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000