Malaysiakini News

Dewan Negara's role in a changing political landscape

Geraldine Tong  |  Published:  |  Modified:

While Pakatan Harapan may have taken over the Dewan Rakyat with its 124-seat victory in the 14th general election, the Senate has remained dominated by BN.

Though it was supposed to have 70 members, currently the Dewan Negara only has 49 members - 40 of them are from BN, with the remaining nine members split among NGO representatives, Pakatan Harapan and PAS.

This is why Pakatan Harapan leaders have often called the Senate a "rubber stamp" that will approve any bill passed by the then BN-dominated Dewan Rakyat...

Sign in

Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000