Malaysiakini NEWS

10 Negeri Sembilan exco members sworn in

Bernama  |  Published:  |  Modified:

Ten Negeri Sembilan state executive councillors today took their oath of office before the Yang Dipertuan Besar, Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir, at Istana Besar Seri Menanti in Kuala Pilah.

They comprise five DAP, three PKR and two Amanah elected representatives.

The DAP councillors are Teo Kok Seong (Bahau); J Arul Kumar (Nilai); Choo Ken Hwa (Lukut); S Veerapan (Repah) and Nicole Tan Lee Koon (Bukit Kepayang); PKR councillors, Mohamad Nazarudin Sabtu (Pilah); Dr Mohamad Rafie Ab Malek (Ampangan) and Ismail Ahmad (Labu); and Amanah councillors, Mohamad Taufek Abd Ghani (Paroi) and Bakri Sawir (Klawang).

Tuanku Muhriz handed over the letters of appointment and all the councillors signed the oath of office, loyalty and secrecy.

The portfolios of the councillors are expected to be determined at the first meeting of the state executive council to be chaired by the Menteri Besar, Aminuddin Harun (above), later today.

Tuanku Muhriz, in his address, congratulated the assemblypersons selected to be the state executive councillors.

“The appointment must be taken as a challenge for, besides being the elected representatives in your constituencies, you have the responsibility to draft the policies and direction of Negeri Sembilan. You must discharge your responsibility with honesty, fairness and professionalism,” he said.

 Tuanku Muhriz reminded the councillors not to abuse their powers for the sake of their own, family or friends’ interests, especially when making decisions involving government tenders or projects. 

The Tunku Ampuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan Tuanku Aishah Rohani Tengku Besar Mahmud, and two children, the Tunku Besar of Seri Menanti Tunku Ali Redhauddin, and Tunku Zain Al-'Abidin, also attended the ceremony.

Also present were the Undang Luak of Rembau Muhammad Sharip Othman; Undang Luak of Johol Mohammed Abdullah; Undang Luak of Sungai Ujong Mubarak Dohak; state secretary Mat Ali Hassan and several other state assemblypersons and some MPs.

- Bernama

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000