Malaysiakini NEWS

Perak DAP polls: Aziz Bari climbs political ladder

Bernama  |  Published:  |  Modified:

Political fortunes are shining on Tebing Tinggi assemblyperson Abdul Aziz Bari.

In the Perak DAP polls held at a hotel in Taiping today, the constitutional expert secured the highest number of votes for the two vice-chairpersons’ post.

The Perak state executive councillor obtained 890 votes from 1,303 voting delegates. The other vacancy was filled by Sungkai assemblyperson A Sivanesan, who is also a state executive councillor.

Teluk Intan MP Nga Kor Ming had no problems defending the chairperson post while Batu Gajah MP V Sivakumar was voted in as deputy chairperson.

Following is the Perak DAP executive committee line up for the 2018-2019 term:

Advisor: Ngeh Koo Ham (Beruas MP)

Chairperson: Nga Kor Ming (Teluk Intan MP)

Deputy chairperson: V Sivakumar (Batu Gajah MP)

Vice-chairpersons: Abdul Aziz Bari (Tebing Tinggi assemblyperson) and A Sivanesan (Sungkai assemblyperson)

Secretary: Wong Kah Woh (Ipoh Timor MP)

Assistant secretary: Ong Boon Piow (Bercham assemblyperson)

Treasurer: Yong Choo Kiong (Tronoh assemblyperson)

Assistant treasurer: Leong Cheok Keng (Malim Nawar assemblyperson)

Organising secretary: Teh Kok Lim (Taiping MP)

Assistant organising secretaries: A Sivasubramaniam (Buntong assemblyperson) and Leow Thye Yih (Pokok Assam assemblyperson)

Publicity secretary: Chong Zhemin (Keranji assemblyperson)

Political education bureau director: Loh Sze Yee (Jalong assemblyperson)

Committee members:

  1. Senator Nga Hock Cheh
  2. Cheah Poh Yin (Jelapang assemblyperson)
  3. Jenny Choi Tsi Jen (Canning assemblyperson)
  4. Howard Lee Chuan How (Pasir Pinji assemblyperson)
  5. Terence Naidu (Pasir Bedamar assemblyperson)

- Bernama

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000