Malaysiakini NEWS

Mohamad Hasan sworn in as Rantau assemblyperson

Published:  |  Modified:

Umno deputy president Mohamad Hasan was today sworn in as the Rantau state assemblyman for his fourth term as the representative of the constituency since 2004.

Mohamad, who was elected in a by-election on April 13, took his oath of office and signed his letter of appointment before Speaker Zulkefly Mohamad Omar at the opening of the first meeting of the second session of the 14th State Legislative Assembly in Seremban.

Negeri Sembilan Yang di-Pertuan Besar Tuanku Muhriz Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir opened the meeting. Also present was the Tunku Ampuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Tuanku Aishah Rohani binti Almarhum Tengku Besar Mahmud.

Mohamad won the Rantau seat for the Barisan Nasional with a 4,510-vote majority, beating Dr S Streram of Pakatan Harapan and two independents - housewife R Malarvizhi and former lecturer Mohd Nor Yassin.

Mohamad, who is also a former Negeri Sembilan menteri besar, obtained 10,397 votes, while anaesthetist Streram, who is Rembau PKR deputy chief, got 5,887 votes. Malarvizhi received 83 votes and Mohd Nor, 79 votes.

The State Assembly has 20 Harapan assemblypersons and 16 BN representatives.

- Bernama

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000