Esszone curfew extended a further 15 days



The 6pm to 6am curfew involving the waters of seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone) which is to end tomorrow, has been extended to June 25, Sabah police commissioner Omar Mammah announced in a statement today.

The districts are Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

The curfew was imposed due to security threats in these waters, especially from outlaws in the southern Philippines.

However, those who depend on the sea for their livelihood can get exemption from the police.

- Bernama

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.