Govt seeks 3 names from opposition for bipartisan emergency committee

Nantha Kumar, Ng Xiang Yi & Fion Yap

Modified 14 Jan 2021, 3:17 am

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Takiyuddin Hassan has written to opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim to request three candidates who will sit on the independent committee that will recommend to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong if the emergency declaration could be ended earlier than its current August date.

Government sources told Malaysiakini the letter has been sent to Anwar...

All Access Plan
starting from


per month
Subscribe Now
You can cancel anytime.
Get unlimited access to our articles on web and apps
Add comments to our articles
Bookmark articles to read later
We accept
Student or Senior Citizen? Get a special rateGroup / Institutional / Corporate Plans
Already Subscribed?
Sign In