EC sends voter's cards to 20,922 Rantau voters

Modified 27 Mar 2019, 4:20 am

The Election Commission (EC) is sending out voter's cards to 20,922 Rantau constituents, including 118 early voters, beginning today.

In a statement today, EC chairperson Azhar Azizan Harun said this was the commission's initiative to encourage voters and facilitate the voting process in the upcoming Rantau by-election.

The card contains information such as the voting centre, channel, date and time.

Early voting is scheduled on April 9, while polling day is on April 13.

Azhar said with the initiative, voters will not need to check for the details again at the SPR centre (barung) on polling day as all the necessary information is included in the card.

However, the commission stressed that voters will still have to bring their identity cards and they are also reminded to bring the voter's card on the polling day to help with the check.

Those who do not receive the voter's card, due to the change in address for example, can obtain the information via the EC portal, or the MySPR mobile application.

Voters can also check by sending an SMS (SPR<space>SEMAK<space>IC Number) to 15888.

Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.