Penang forms leadership council for Harapan component parties

Modified 21 May 2019, 10:40 am

The Penang chapter of Pakatan Harapan has formed a leadership council comprising leaders from the component parties to strengthen cooperation between the allies.

Penang Harapan Leadership Council secretary Lim Hui Ying said a meeting, chaired by Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow (above), was held, together with the chairpersons representing the parties.

"The council was officially formed today at the Penang DAP headquarters.

"They have agreed that the council will comprise five permanent members and a total of 20 members," she added.

Lim said the Harapan state government, which was formed in 2008, will continue to ensure that the GE14 manifesto is fulfilled.

"This is to show appreciation to Penang voters for giving us their full support, and 37 out of 40 seats in Penang in the last national polls.

"This leadership council will be the main coordination committee between the Harapan component parties in Penang," she stressed. 


Share this story


By posting a comment, you agree to our Terms & Conditions as stipulated in full here


Foul language, profanity, vulgarity, slanderous, personal attack, threatening, sexually-orientated comments or the use of any method of communication that may violate any law or create needless unpleasantness will not be tolerated. Antisocial behaviour such as "spamming" and "trolling" will be suspended. Violators run the risk of also being blocked permanently.


Please use the report feature that is available below each comment to flag offending comments for our moderators to take action. Do not take matters in your own hands to avoid unpleasant and unnecessary exchanges that may result in your own suspension or ban.