Malaysiakini NEWS

Ramkarpal replaces Nurul as head of Consideration of Bills Committee


PARLIAMENT | Bukit Gelugor MP Ramkarpal Singh has been made the head of the parliamentary Consideration of Bills Committee, replacing Permatang Pauh MP Nurul Izzah Anwar. 

This is according to the special report of the Selection Committee, which was tabled in the Dewan Rakyat today.

Ramkarpal was appointed to the Consideration of Bills Committee when it was set up last December, along with five other bipartisan select committees.

His vacancy has been filled by Larry Sng (Harapan-Julau).

The same report also noted that Akmal Nasir (Harapan-Johor Bahru) will replace his colleague William Leong (Harapan-Selayang) on the Public Accounts Committee. 

Leong had stepped down from the PAC as he also sits on the Major Public Appointments Committee.

The opposition also named Ismail Mohamed Said (BN-Kuala Krau) to the PAC, replacing the vacancy left by Noraini Ahmad (BN-Parit Sulong) after she was made its chairperson.

Noriaini was selected to head the PAC after her predecessor Ronald Kiandee defected to Bersatu.

Share this story


Welcome back,

Your subscription expires on

Your subscription will expire soon, kindly renew before

Your subscription is expired
  Click here to renew

You are not subscribed to any subscription package
  Click here to subscribe now

Any questions?
  Email: [email protected]
  Call: +603-777-00000