Four new select committees formed, one headed by opposition

Andrew Ong

Modified 6 Dec 2019, 10:43 am

Four new Dewan Rakyat special select committees (SSC) have been established, including one headed by an opposition MP.

The decision was made by the Dewan Rakyat Selection Committee on Nov 6.

SSC are special bi-partisan investigative groups focussing on specific issues.

They have the power to summon witnesses and submit reports to Parliament.

The subject matter for the four new committees are:

  • Election
  • Human rights and constitutional affairs
  • International relations and trade
  • Science, innovation and environment

The only new SSC to be headed by an opposition MP - Fadillah Yusoh (GPS-Petrajaya) - is the committee on science, innovation and environment.

This meant that there are two select committees headed by the opposition, with the other being the powerful Public Accounts Committee, headed by Noraini Ahmad (BN-Parit Sulong).

This brings the total number of special select committees to 10.

There were only two established during the Najib Abdul Razak administration, and they were dissolved once their investigation was completed.