Schools in 4 districts to be closed a day ahead of conditional MCO

Modified 8 Oct 2020, 3:08 am

COVID-19 | Schools in four districts - Klang, Sandakan, Papar and Tuaran - will be closed tomorrow, ahead of the enforcement of the conditional movement control order (MCO).

According to a statement by the Education Ministry, schools in this district will remain closed until Oct 23.

An earlier statement by Senior Minister (security cluster) Ismail Sabri Yaakob had announced schools closures as part of conditional MCO requirements for these four districts.

Ismail had said that the condition MCO for these districts only took effect on Friday. He did not mention an end-date.

Meanwhile, the Education Ministry said parents are advised to remove their children from hostels, but those who choose to stay will be taken after.

Teachers are also required to facilitate home-based learning and can download a manual from

At the time of writing, the latest district-level data for Sabah has yet to be made available. As of yesterday noon, Sandakan's active Covid-19 cases stood at 68, followed by Papar (46) and Tuaran (28).

As of noon today, the Klang district in Selangor has 79 active Covid-19 cases.

Apart from the abovementioned districts, schools in the districts of Kota Kinabalu, Tawau, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Penampang and Putatan were already experiencing mandatory school closures as targeted enhanced MCO was already in place.